President's Letter

Rosa Paliotti

Meet your President: Sonia Powell

Sonia Powell
Director General, Workplace Solutions
Real Property Branch
Public Services and Procurement Canada

Sonia Powell is the Director General for Public Services and Procurement Canada’s Real Property Branch Workplace Solutions service line. Sonia is accountable for delivery of the $185M annual fit-up program and for modernizing the Government of Canada workplace under the WP2.0 fit-up standards.

Sonia started her career in Acquisitions Branch in 1993 as a procurement officer in marine procurement. She subsequently joined Real Property Branch as a project manager. She held project management positions in Transport Canada and National Defence, managing infrastructure and environmental projects before returning to PSPC in 2011.

Sonia held various positions in RPB NCA Operations from 2011 to 2016 including leadership positions as the Regional Manager, NCA Geomatics; Project Director, AFD Real Property Team; Senior Director NCA Professional and Technical Services; and, Acting Director General NCA Operations. She has been a champion of several change initiatives and has led a number of successful organizational realignments.

Sonia has received a number of awards recognizing her work in the real property community. She holds a position on the Real Property Institute of Canada (RPIC) Board of Directors and is Chair of the 2016 RPIC Real Property National Workshop.

Sonia is an engineer with a degree from Memorial University of Newfoundland, with a specialization in Naval Architecture. She also holds a certificate as a functional specialist in real property.


2019 Executive

Sonia Powell, Public Services and Procurement Canada 

First Vice-President, Communication and Outreach Portfolio 
Sonia Powell, Public Services and Procurement Canada 

Second Vice-President - Professional Development Portfolio 
Michael Nowlan, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat 

Donna Jean Kilpatrick, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Past President
Rosa Paliotti, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat


RPIC Staff

Executive Director
Steven Brasier, Real Property Institute of Canada 

Executive Advisor 
Ruth Brady, Real Property Institute of Canada

Executive Secretary 
Robin Baldwin, Real Property Institute of Canada 

2018 Directors

Maurice Arsenault, Department of National Defence
Tara Dinsmore, Canada Lands Company
Andrew Hope, Royal Canadian Mounted Police
Lyse Langevin, Indigenous Services Canada
Greg MacMillan, Health Canada
Elizabeth Mah, Defence Construction Canada
Ashley Maloney, Correctional Services Canada
Sonia Powell, Public Services and Procurement Canada
Jean-François Robert, Public Services and Procurement Canada
Daniel Therien, National Research Council Canada

2018/2019 Ex Officio Members

Catherine Daillaire, KPMG
Carolyn Haddock, Calgary Municipal Land Corporation
Franklin Holtforster, Colliers Project Leaders
Wayne Liko, Horizant
Silvano Mason, Deliotte Real Estate 
Gordon Murray, Golder Associates Limited
Cheryl Nelms, City of Vancouver
Robert van Wyngaarden, AECOM


Non-Board Members - Chair/Lead

Chair, Federal Contaminates Sites Wrokshops (2019 Regional / 2020 National)
Clayton Traux, Public Services and Procurement Canada, National Capital Area

Chair, 2020 Marine Infrastructure National Workshop
Khaled Manai, Public Services and Procurement Canada   

Board Members




Questions en

fb icon   Twitter icon   linkedIn icon